[News] DSP Girls to debut in Japan before Korea

We previously reported that DSP Media, which manages KARA, SS501 and Rainbow, will be debuting their "Second KARA", a new girl group with 5 members. Tentatively entitled "DSP Girls", the group is comprised of Haein, Shiyoon, Chaekyun and Somin.

It has been revealed that DSP Girls will debut in Japan before starting their work in Korea. DSP Media recently unveiled all five members in Tokyo late last month through a press conference. The group was there to promote an animated short entitled “Pretty Rhythm” that will air on TV Tokyo in April. The film, which combines live action and animation, follows the five DSP Girls and how each of them becomes a singer while competing with a Japanese girl group.

DSP Media chose to introduce the group this way in order to capture Japanese fans of animation.

“We thought it would be compelling to tease the group through animation first,” a DSP Media official said. “DSP Girls will make their official debut around the time when the animated short hits the airwaves.”

The entertainment company is also hoping to capitalize on KARA’s huge fan base in Japan by marketing DSP Girls as a new girl group from KARA’s entertainment company.